Post Eagle Newspaper


Nov 29, 2023

45°F, few clouds
New Jersey

Time Now


Rhode Island Polonia Scholarship Foundation
Awards Ten Students And
Celebrates Forty Years

On April 7th, 2018, the Rhode Island Polonia Scholarship Foundation awarded ten Rhode Island High School seniors $1,000.00 grants toward their college education. The award ceremony took place at St. Adalbert’s Parish Center, Providence, RI. Participating in the Foundations’ 40th awards ceremony were guest speakers Marek Lesniewski-Laas, Honorary Consul of the Republic of Poland and former recipients Dr. Robert Markelewicz and Ms. Kristen Setera. The awards were presented by Dr. Dorothy Pieniadz, Scholarship Selection Chairperson.

In addition to meeting all Foundation requirements applicants had to provide an essay on one of the following summarized topics: (1) Describe how Tadeusz Kosciuszko’s principles of fair and just treatment for all can influence American social issues for the better in the 21st century. (2) In 2018 we observe the centennial of Poland’s rebirth. An all volunteer army consisting largely of Polish Americans, known as “ Haller’s Army” made a major contribution to win Poland’s independence in 1918, and in securing the Polish victory against the Soviets in 1920. Discuss the sacrifices of “Haller’s Army” in fighting for a resurrected Poland. (3) In 2018 we observe the 40th anniversary of the election of Karol Cardinal Wojtyla as Pope John Paul II. Describe the resolve of this “Polish” Pope to bring about the end of oppressive totalitarian regimes throughout Eastern Europe and its impact on the world.

Since its founding in 1978 the Foundation has awarded 340 grants totaling $306,000.00. These grants are made possible through the support of private individuals, businesses, and Polish American organizations. For additional information about the Foundation please visit

In Photo: First Row L-R: Dr. Markelewicz, Ms. Kristen Setera, Marek Lesniewski-Laas, Emma Stowe, Stephen Grivers, Dr. Dorothy Pieniadz, Jason Cambra, and Gregory Malec, Foundation President. Second Row L-R: Nicholas Campanini, Jesse Vigeant, Megan Boory, Brandon England, Zachary Pinault, Tyler Piekarski. Not present – William Such.

Submitted by Joseph Chrostowski