Post Eagle Newspaper


Jul 14, 2024

45°F, few clouds
New Jersey

Time Now


NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey

Union College Celebrates Winning The ECAC In Lake Placid, NY

GRAND RAPIDS–  Minnesota-State-Mankato won the Western Collegiate Hockey Association title at the Van Andel Arena over Ferris State 4-1.  The Mavericks were presented the storied Broadmoor Trophy from retiring Commissioner Bruce McCloud. 

Minnesota State, freshman, goalie Cole Huggins was named tournament MVP.  He had 25 saves in the championship game.  Teddy Blueger, Bryce Gervais and Brett Stern, were other Mavericks that were named to the all-tournament team.

MSU ran its winning streak to 13 games and stands at 26-13-1 on the year.  Ferris falls to 28-10-3.  Both teams qualified for the 2014 NCAA ‘Frozen Four’.

In the inaugural Big Ten Tournament at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minnesota, Wisconsin beat Ohio State 5-4 in overtime.  Mark Zengerle had a rebound goal for the Badgers.

“These are good lessons to put in their hip pocket as we continue to go into next weekend, because the games are all going to be pretty much similar to this,” said Badgers coach Mike Eaves.  Minnesota and Wisconsin both qualified for the NCAA ‘Frozen Four’.  The Big Ten tourney will be at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit in 2015.

Union defeated Colgate, 5-2 in the ECAC Hockey Championship at Herb Brooks Arena, in Lake Placid, New York.

The Division I – Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2014 Division I – Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site.  The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four.  The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of the six conferences.  The remainder of the field is selected at large.

Minnesota was the No. 1 overall seed.  The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included Boston College, Union (N.Y.) and Wisconsin.

East Regional, March 28-29
Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, Conn.
March 28, 2 p.m. ET, No. 1 Union (N.Y.) (28-6-4) vs. No. 4 Vermont (20-14-3)
March 28, 5:30 p.m. ET, No. 2 Quinnipiac (24-9-6) vs. No. 3 Providence (21-10-6)
March 29, 3 p.m. ET, East Regional Championship

Midwest Regional, March 28-29
U.S. Bank Arena, Cincinnati, Ohio
March 28, 4:30 p.m. ET, No. 2 Ferris State (28-10-3) vs. No. 3 Colgate (20-13-5)
March 28, 8 p.m. ET, No. 1 Wisconsin (24-10-2) vs. No. 4 North Dakota (23-13-3)
March 29, 6:30 p.m. ET, Midwest Regional Championship

Northeast Regional, March 29-30
DCU Center, Worcester, Mass.
March 29, 4 p.m. ET, No. 1 Boston College (26-7-4) vs. No. 4 Denver (20-15-6)
March 29, 7:30 p.m. No. 2 Massachusetts-Lowell (25-10-4) vs. No. 3 Minnesota State-Mankato (26-13-1)
March 30, 5 p.m. ET, Northeast Regional Championship

West Regional, March 29-30
Xcel Energy Center, Saint Paul, Minn.
March 29, 5:30 p.m. ET, No. 1 Minnesota (25-6-6) vs. No. 4 Robert Morris (19-17-5)
March 29, 9 p.m. ET, No. 2 Notre Dame (23-14-2) vs. No. 3 St. Cloud State (21-10-5)
March 30, 7:30 p.m. ET, West Regional Championship