Post Eagle Newspaper


Jun 12, 2024

45°F, few clouds
New Jersey

Time Now


60th Anniversary of
“In God We Trust”

WASHINGTON, D.C. (August 1st, 2016) — On July 29th, America celebrated the 60th anniversary of “In God We Trust” as the national motto of this great nation.

From the joint press release issued by Representative Randy Forbes of Virginia and Senator James Lankford of Oklahoma:

In 1812, after the British bombed Fort McHenry all night and the battle torn American flag still waved overhead, Francis Scott Key penned in the poem that became our national anthem: “And this be our motto: ‘In God is our trust!’”  “In God We Trust” first appeared on U.S. coins in 1864, and President Eisenhower signed the law officially establishing “In God We Trust” as our national motto on July 30th, 1956.

Some eternal truths endure the political winds of the present.  As Matthew 7:26-27 reminds us:

“The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”  (KJV)

In a time where America is recovering from the greatest economic crash since the Great Depression, during a time where the winds beat and a rising tide of secular leftism and Islamist terrorism seems to engulf the world, these are the times to remember who our anchor is — the rock on which our nation is built.

In God We Trust.

So long as there is a faithful remnant — “Even so then at this present time also there is a remnant according to the election of grace,” (Romans 11:5, KJV) — the spirit and tradition of America will endure in the hearts of free men and women.

Keep the faith, even in a faithless time.  That’s TVC’s mission… and we are joining you in that fight every day.

Traditional Values Coalition
139 “C” Street, SE
Washington, D.C. 20003