Post Eagle Newspaper


Apr 18, 2024

45°F, few clouds
New Jersey

Time Now


Polish Heritage Society Scholarship Awards
Presentation & Oath of Office

PENNSYLVANIA – On Sunday, May 6, 2018, the Polish Heritage Society of Philadelphia held its annual Scholarship Awards Presentation and brunch at the National Shrine of Our Lady of Czestochowa in Doylestown, PA.

We first began with a Mass at 11:00 AM.  The readings were done by our scholarship recipients as well as the offering of the gifts presented during the mass.

After Mass everyone adjourned to the cafeteria at which time a variety of Polish cuisine was served.  In addition, grace was said by one of the Pauline Fathers.

The Scholarship Program was conducted by Dr. Dolores Szymanski, Chair for the program. Committee members were:  Diana Blichasz, Marie Hejnosz, Debbie Majka and Peter Obst.   Each recipient received a $1,000.00 Scholarship Award.  Dr. Szymanski introduced each awardee and gave a brief synopsis of their interests.

Our recipients were: Natalia Dzietczak, student at Drexel University, President of the Polish Club at Drexel; Grace Majkut, Sr. at Saint Basil Academy, interest in pursuing a career in business; Zoe Allen, student at Hofstra; Olivia Shears, interested in a career in Construction Management; Nicholas Zaborowski, student at Temple University majoring in Music; Dorota Dylinski will attend Rowan University in the fall; Meredith Musman, attends Conestoga High School; Julia Przybos, University of Pittsburgh. In photo above , left to right: Julia Przybos, Tekla Simon, Natalia Dzietczak, Grace Majkut, Plivia Shears, Zoe Allen, Dorota Dylinski, Meredith Musman, Nicholas Zaborowski

In addition, the Oath of office was given by Stanley Majkut. The newly elected Officers/Directors for 2018-2020 are:  Jean Joka, President; Marie Hejnosz , Vice President; Debbie Majka Treasurer; Diana Blichasz, Recording Secretary; Teresa Wojcik, Corresponding Secretary.  The Directors are:  Dr. Frederick Brodzinski,  Tiffany Loomis, Irene Musman, Barbara Nowicki, Peter Obst; Dr. Dolores Szymanski, John Wisniewski and Margaret Zaleska.   Appointed Committees:  Liz Whitman, Membership Secretary, and Eleanor Kirbyson, Sunshine.  

In photo, left to right: Barbara Nowicki, Teresa Wojcik, Diana Blichasz, Jean Joka, Marie Hejnosz, Debbie Majka, John Wisniewski, Liz Whitman, Peter Obst, Dr. Dolores Szymanski.  (missing:  Tiffany Loomis, Margaret Zaleska, Dr. Fred Brodzinski, Eleanor Kirbyson)

We encourage and welcome membership in the Polish Heritage Society of Philadelphia

Polish Heritage Society of Philadelphia|Facebook